Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Brand New Ender 3 v2 owner with trouble - I think?

Dakidd
(@dakidd)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hi folks.

I'm a total newbie to 3d printers, but not even *SLIGHTLY* new to electronics in general or electromechanical stuff, so I've got a pretty good idea what to do when things don't work - most of the time, anyway.

Long story much shorter: I just took delivery of a brand new Ender 3 v2 this morning, bought directly from the Creality store. It's now assembled (only issues involved "fat fingers" struggling to get screws into a couple of tight places) and it should be ready for "Step 10 - Bed Leveling".

I've checked and rechecked all wiring/connectors - So far as I can tell, unless the plugs are mis-tagged, they're all where they belong and solidly seated. The voltage selector switch is set correctly. I've got all of the mechanicals set to roughly the center of the available range of motion. NO FILAMENT INSTALLED at this point, no USB connection, and no card in the slot. Declare assembly and setup complete, and final checks done - let's give it some power and see how things go.

Plug in and switch on. Short (a second, maybe a little more) delay, then fans start whirring, the screen lights up with the Creality logo and the "progress thermometer" appears. That finishes, and  after about 7-8 seconds, I'm looking at the "home" screen. So far, so good - No smoke, no sparks, no funny smells, no unexpected noises. But other than the fan sounds and the screen coming to life, no indication of anything at all happening. I assume that's normal behavior.

Consult the booklet on page 15, step 10 "Bed Leveling".

Dial to "Prepare". Click. 

Dial to "Auto Home". Click.

Screen switches to read

"Auto homing...

Please don't other operation"

Z-Axis jackscrew rotates approximately 4 revolutions clockwise (raising the rail the extruder is on by a bit under half an inch by "eyeball it" measurement)

Z-motion stops.