Notifications
Clear all

not entirely sure what my problem is

RustyPrints01
(@rustyprints01)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

I'm new to 3D printing and have gotten three successful builds of my new Ender 3 v2. As of this last Friday or the 12th of March 2021, I don't know if it's the bed heating or if I built it wrong, but the filament included isn't sticking to the bed as well as most pictures and reviews I've gone over. I've tried over 30 builds of just a regular Benchy Boat, and the filament doesn't stick down; it curves up and attaches to the nozzle. Can it just be that I have leveled it wrong? is there an easier way to level without purchasing new parts or accessories? 

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
CYT
 CYT
(@cyt)
Screw

I am also not sure what exactly happened, but there are several common issues that may cause the problem and that's the steps I would usually do:

1. the bed is not leveled or the nuzzle is too high above the bed. I would adjust the bed with a piece of paper. Here is a video:

2. The bed temperature may be too low-- I personally always use PLA and I set the temperature to 60. Maybe you can raise the temperature by 5 degrees at a time and see if it sticks after you level the bed. 

3. The printing speed is too high-- when printing the first layer, I would print with 50mm/s to make sure the filament sticks nicely on the bed. Maybe you can lower the speed as well to check.

4. the bed itself doesn't have enough adhesion (usually not the case) -- if the steps above still don't work, I would use some tapes on the bed and print on the tapes to check whether the part sticks. 

These steps usually help me solve the sticking problems. I hope it also works for you as well. 

ReplyQuote
Wurlitzerwilly
(@wurlitzerwilly)
Eminent Member Registered

@rustyprints01
Not only level the bed, but make sure the bed is clean - wipe with IPA or wash the glass with soap and water. Have you removed the original yellow film?