Clear all

Ender 3 v2 - Marlin Firmware inc Display

Page 1 / 2

IDontKnowMe
(@idontknowme)
Nozzle Registered
Topic starter  

Hi All,

Just after a bit of advice with regards to the Marlin 2.0 firmware for an Ender 3 v2. I'm new to the 3D printing world so hopefully these questions aren't too stupid 🙃 .

I was looking to install the firmware, because I want to take advantage of being able to use the change filament command (I believe M600?) or the pause commands in general. I have a pi running octoprint which has a good workaround using a script, but I just fancied having it work 'properly' if that makes sense.

One thing I can't seem to see anywhere is about the need to be updating the displays firmware if you are updating the main board firmware? Is this required? Is it beneficial?

I would also like to display the print progress (and option to pause etc) on the stock display when printing from octoprint - does anybody know if updating everything to Marlin will solve this annoyance?

Last one - I was thinking to just pay the money and use the Marlin Firmware service, to save me the hassle of building it myself, but does this include display firmware too, or just the main board?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

ReplyQuote
Eli liu
(@eli-liu)
Power Supply Customer

Currently, the Creaity team hasn't released the new firmware with features like M600 or M25. They may be facing some challenges in adding it. 

The screen firmware is along with the mainboard firmware. If the mainboard firmware has new functions, you have to update both to let the printer work properly. 

Marlin Firmware service. You can make a request first, the expert will tell you if he can make it or not.

ReplyQuote
IDontKnowMe
(@idontknowme)
Nozzle Registered
Topic starter  

@eli-liu thanks. I was going to contact the Marlin Firmware service, but theres no email or contact form on their website.