Forum

Print isn’t stickin...

Notifications
Clear all

Print isn’t sticking to bed (noob - first print)

ErniePantuso
(@erniepantuso)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

I’m new to 3D printing and just setup my first printer - an Ender 3. I got it all assembled and meticulously leveled the bed. It’s pretty much perfect (I think) but the bed is definitely lower in the middle. I can’t really say how much lower but when I get home this evening, I’ll see how many pieces of paper I can get under the print nozzle. Anyway, I downloaded Benchy from Thingiverse and opened the STL file for Benchy in Cura, sliced it with all the default settings, then saved the gcode file to the SD card. I wiped the bed with isopropyl alcohol (since I’d been handling it so much). I’m not sure what kind of filament I’m using; it’s the test filament that came with the Ender 3. (Is that enough to make a Benchy?) I assumed it was PLA so I set the temperature to 205 (bed temp 60) and waited for it to come up to temp before I started printing. But the filament isn’t sticking to the bed. What should I do/try? The fan setting is at the default 255; should I reduce that so the filament doesn’t cool so quickly?

ReplyQuote
kevin
(@kevin)
Noble Member Registered

@erniepantuso Hello, the filament that came with your printer is PLA. 200/60 temp is fine. And your bed has no issues as well. So you need to learn how to level the bed first.

ReplyQuote
ErniePantuso
(@erniepantuso)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  
Posted by: @erniepantuso

I got it all assembled and meticulously leveled the bed. 

ReplyQuote
kevin
(@kevin)
Noble Member Registered

@erniepantuso What I want to say is do a live leveling like what you see in this video. You will see clearly where is high or low while the printer working on.

ReplyQuote
Mindwave
(@mindwave)
New Member Registered

Kevinhow long did it take for your 1st live level to work?

I'm on day 2 of about 3 hours each day and haven't gotten it 100% yet.