Forum

Filament stop feedi…

Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Filament stop feeding in the middle of the print.

7 Posts
7 Users
1 Likes
Asubhan
(@asubhan)
Topic starter  

I am new to 3D printing. I bought my first machine Ender v2. I am printing the cat model that came with in SD card. The machine works fine until we get to 35 to 40 percent. The filament stop feeding and machine keeps running. I have to manually remove the filament from white tube and feed through again. (Bed temp 60 and nozzle temp 200) using TECBEARS PLA 3D Printer Filament 1.75mm

ReplyQuote
kevin
(@kevin)
Noble Member

@asubhan Did the extruder gear keep rotating when the filament stop feeding? You can remove and push filament in again so I guess the nozzle is not clogged. It is an extruder issue.

ReplyQuote
paladin776
(@paladin776)

I have the same issue. The two gears (toothed bronze and pulley) are still rotating and just the filament stop feeding in. I replaced a new nozzle and and the feeding tube and changed another roll of filament but still the same result. How can we fix the extruder issue? Thanks in advance

kbailes reacted
ReplyQuote
NateZLG
(@natezlg)

Is the filament hard to remove after it stops extruding? If the extruder fan is under performing it’ll allow heat up into the heat brake; the filament gets soft and jams up in the heat brake. It can require a couple of pliers to get the filament back out of the tube because the diameter is increased at the end.

Other causes can be clogs, or a damaged nozzle tip. Swap out nozzle to see if it’s different.

The bowden tube needs to be pressed firmly down into the extruder, gaps can allow filament to seep into the heat brake and clog things up.

Tubes can get baked or worn out internally. Some people grease their bowden tubes. Others upgrade to Capricorn tubing and get better results.

ReplyQuote
Larry Dinkel
(@larry-dinkel)